Monday, August 27, 2012

National Youth Awards - India

A sports award is a special honor given to certain sportsmen or sportswomen, for their outstanding performance in a particular sport. Such awards not only boost the morale of the players, but also encourage them to perform better, and gain further accolades for the country. The award given to a particular player is, usually, in the form of cash prize, medals and trophies.

It is the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports (MYAS) that presents sports awards to the players. There are a variety of awards that are presented by the ministry. Some of the awards given in different sports categories are the Arjuna Award, Dronacharya Award, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award, Special Awards to Medal Winners in International Sports Events, Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy and the Dhyanchand Award for Lifetime Achievement in Sports.

MYAS has also come up with special awards for the youth in the category of adventure sports in land, sea or air, and showing excellence in development activities as well as social service. Apart from the youth, organizations are also awarded for displaying leadership qualities in conducting and managing adventure activities. The National Youth Award maybe given to a single youth or an organization while the National Adventure Award is the highest national recognition for individuals performing well in adventure activities.

Youth Awards

Youth awards are special prizes conferred to individual participants and organizations for outstanding performances in social activities. These awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports to encourage youths to participate in different social service activities. In order to boost the morale of social activity volunteers, youth programs are held regularly. The main aim of such programs is to support the active participation of youth in nation building activities.

The MYAS gives two kinds of youth awards: National Youth Award and National Adventure Award. Both of them aim at encouraging the youth of the country to work towards national development. The National Youth Award is given to individuals and organizations for carrying out development work. On the other hand, the National Adventure Award is given to those who perform well in adventure activities.

1. National Youth Award: 

The National Youth Award is conferred on individuals who have performed outstanding service to the community in the field of social development. Every organization with a record of youth and social development programs are eligible for this award. Only 25 people are conferred with The National Youth Award, every year. The National Youth Award is given to encourage the youth to participate wholeheartedly in development activities. Along with the 25 individual awards, MYAS also gives one such award to an organization.

The award for individuals includes a Rs. 20,000 cash prize, medal, scroll and ceremonial dresses, while the award for an organization comprises Rs. 10,000 cash prize, a trophy and a scroll. The age criteria for the nominated volunteer should be between 13-35 years during the year for which award is presented. The act of the volunteer also needs to be clearly defined. A nominated organization needs to be registered under Registration of Societies Act, 1860 for the last three years. It should also have a properly constituted managing body with powers clearly defined in its constitution. In fact, the organization should not be run for profit, and should not have been presented with a National Youth Award earlier.

2. National Adventure Award:

The National Adventure Award is given to people who perform bravery acts or adventure activities on land, air and water. This award was constituted in 1993 for recognizing the achievements of persons in the field of adventure. The National Adventure Award was later renamed the Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Award, in memory of the famous mountaineer Tenzing Norgay. The main objective of having this award was to help young people to develop a spirit of endurance, cooperative teamwork and effective reflexes in challenging situations.

The Youth and Sports Affairs Department of a State, may also recommend particular names to the Central Government for this award. Recognized adventure institutes may also recommend names. The Government of India has set up a Special Committee to scrutinize all the entries received. The excellent performance and outstanding quality of leadership of the nominee is an important factor that comes into play while deciding the winner. Those who have received it earlier are not eligible. The National Adventure Award comprises a bronze statuette, a scroll of honor, a blazer with silken tie or saree, and a cash prize of Rs.3,00,000.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We'd love to hear from you. Please post a comment below to let us know what you think!