Wednesday, April 28, 2010

India Commonwealth Games – Accommodation and Tickets

The most important multi sport event of this year is the India Commonwealth Games, for which accommodation and tickets are in great demand. The Commonwealth Games is a sports event, in which countries that were once a part of the former British Empire take part.

The first Games were held in 1930 in Hamilton, Canada and were known as the British Empire Games. It saw the participation of 11 countries in six sports and 59 sporting events. Since then, the Commonwealth Games have been conducted every four years, except for 1942 and 1946 during the Second World War. During the Commonwealth Games, accommodation and tickets are in great demand. Later, the Games came to be known by various other names, until the 1978 Games in Edmonton, where this international multi-sports event was renamed as the Commonwealth Games.

Management of India Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games is managed by the Commonwealth Games Federation (CGF). Originally having only single competition sports, the Commonwealth Games saw a significant change when team sports such as cricket, hockey, netball and rugby were introduced at the 1998 Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

In 2000, the CGF took on the additional responsibility of organizing the Commonwealth Youth Games, for sportspersons hailing from Commonwealth countries who were 18 years and younger. The Third Edition of the Commonwealth Youth Games was held in Pune, India in 2008. It ended with India leading the medals tally with 33 Golds of the total of 76 Medals won. Lots of accommodation and tickets were sold for these Games.

The Commonwealth Games also broke new barriers, when a number of full medal events for elite athletes with a disability (EAD) were introduced at the 2002 Games in Manchester. This was the first time ever that events for people with disabilities were introduced at an international multi-sport event.

Accommodation and Tickets for the Commonwealth Games, India

In 2010, the India Commonwealth Games will be held in Delhi for the first time. India is the third developing country to host the event after Jamaica in 1966 and Malaysia in 1998. Accommodation and tickets for the India Commonwealth Games will soon be made available. The Games are scheduled to be held in New Delhi between the 3rd and 14th of October, 2010 inclusive of opening and closing ceremonies.

The India Commonwealth Games 2010 will include 17 sports - Archery, Aquatics, Athletics, Badminton, Boxing, Cycling, Gymnastics, Hockey, Lawn Bowls, Netball, Rugby 7s, Shooting, Squash, Table Tennis, Tennis, Weightlifting and Wrestling. Elite Athletes with Disabilities (EAD) will compete in 15 events across 4 sports, namely, Athletics, Swimming, Powerlifting and Table Tennis.

The government is currently renovating existing facilities and constructing new infrastructure for these sports. New accommodation in the form of hotels and bed and breakfasts for tourists are being constructed and tickets for sports events will be later sold online.

No comments:

Post a Comment

We'd love to hear from you. Please post a comment below to let us know what you think!